I Don't Like Your Mixtapes

Mixtape therapy.

DARK PARTS


__________________________________________

So before I put up the last mix (Built to Rebuild), I was actually working on this one. Initially, this was only going to have 10 songs and would’ve been the shortest mix I’ve ever compiled; however, I didn’t think those 10 songs really translated just how (allow me to blatantly put it) “shitty” I felt. I won’t tell you everything because it’s personal and I’d rather not share it with however many of you read these things but, I’m sure you’ve all been there and experienced it at some point already- I’m inexperienced and have just endured the early phases of this complex emotion that is so sought-after and it finally fucking got to me this past month or so- it was literally all I could think about and crave for.

Dark Parts was built around the song of the same name, which was performed by Perfume Genius, and if you listen to it and this compilation in its entirety, you’ll know exactly where I’m coming from. You might even be in the same situation (but I’m hoping you’ll get out of it soon as compiling these mixes has made me laugh at how poorly I went about this whole thing. Ah, the power of music. I’d also like to add that the photograph chosen for this mixtape is fucking awesome, hence no text.).

___________________________________________

TRACKLIST:

  1. Coeur de Pirate – Lève les voiles
  2. Perfume Genius – Dark Parts
  3. Beirut – Goshen
  4. Xiu Xiu – The Oldness
  5. Gem Club – In Wavelengths
  6. Amanda Mair – House
  7. The Mary Onettes – Love’s Taking Strange Ways
  8. My Sad Captains – Heavy Lifting
  9. Deportees – Islands and Shores
  10. Delta Spirit – Time Bomb
  11. Porcelain Raft – Backwords
  12. Ezra Furman – Sinking Slow
  13. Stealing Sheep – Noah’s Days
  14. Ela Orleans – Take My Hand
  15. Wolf Gang – Planets
  16. Zola Jesus – Lick The Palm of The Burning Handshake
  17. Parenthetical Girls – The Privilege
  18. Air – Décollage
  19. Florence + The Machine – Heartlines
  20. Lana Del Rey – Summertime Sadness

___________________________________________

“I will take the dark parts of your heart into my heart.”

No comments yet»

THOUGHTS:

